+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question How do I learn how to make great layouts?

I have never done scrapbooking (in real life) before. I have started playing around with the SBM 2.0 trial (I have 1.0 but wanted to see if I should upgrade), and I know how to use the program itself. I have played with just about every feature there and tweaked things all over the place.

Now that I know how to use the tool, how do I come up with great layouts? Where do I start? I feel like I am cheating if I just use a template and load in pictures and text. I want to be able to either tweak the template-initiated pages, or start from scratch, and actually come up with some nice results. I feel like there are TOO MANY possiblities and I don't know where to start. Are there any suggestions about how to use embellishments? How much to put on a page? What stuff should overlap and what shouldn't? I suspect the answer is "it's all up to you", but I wish I had some direction...

Oh, and I installed my SMB 2.0 trial on a system that already had SBM 1.0 and it didn't load all of my gallery stuff into the 2.0 gallery from the 1.0 gallery. Is this something that will only happen once I purchase 2.0?

Thank you!
    Cindy in Reno, NV

Maybe you should look on the web for some page maps or grey scale templates. In those it gives an idea of a layout but you choose the papers, embellies and ect. I have used these a number of times just to get me started. On some sights you can even look for them by the number of pics you want to use.

Have fun and Happy scrapping.

Julie

Question

page maps or grey scale templates

Thanks for the suggestion, Julie, but I am not sure what these are? Will it be obvious from an Internet search? Should I include "scrapbook" in the search terms with these?

Thank you!
    Cindy in Reno, NV

Hi - My best advise is to learn to scraplift (that is find a simple layout you like in the gallery and try doing something similar to it ).