+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2

    Question I really need help with Vista & SBM

    Hi. I have Vista. I have an administrator account. I have logged into that admin account and tried to install the latest version of SBM. I stopped the autoplay, browsed for install on the disk, right clicked it to "run as admin" and installed the program. However, it is still not working correctly. It says "SBM has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available". There never is. It just closes the program and I have to reopen it all for the same results. I have tried all variations of installing this program, always in the admin account (since that is the only account on the computer right now). It never asks me to give a password for the admin account during install, since I am already logged in as the admin. I have used the autoplay to install, I have run without the autoplay, etc etc. How do I get this installed so I can use it????? I really need step by step instructions at this point. Thank you Lisa

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin USA
    Posts
    6,455

    Default

    I am not sure, I have vista and I don't have that problem. You may want to send a private message to Desmond, our resident expert.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    383

    Default

    This has happened to me also on vista,, thankfully I can use another computer,,with xp,, both versions of my Scrapbook Max do this on vista,:O((((
    So I am also Interested to hear what the problem might be,,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Joplin MO
    Posts
    730

    Default

    I have Vista and I didn't have this problem.

    Hmmm...last time I tried to send a private message to Desmond it didn't work. I don't think he accepts them. I think he just watches for problems and answers.
    My buddy is GrannyWin.
    My sister, my friend, Laurie016. My daughter, mortonmomof2.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ottumwa Iowa
    Posts
    570

    Default

    there is a download on the microsoft site, you'll need to know if you are using 32bit or 64bit , you can find this out by clickingon control panel and then click on systems it will tell you which you have then install the download for your system
    you do not have to restart your computer but I found that it will corect it faster if you do.
    Rachell

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    4,283

    Default

    I'm watching this thread with great interest too as I am "thinking" of buying anew puter with Vista but am anxious about potential problems with sbm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    383

    Default

    Windows might close a program and then notify you if it determines that the program is either a security risk or incompatible with this version of Windows.

    When Windows closes a program because of a security risk, it is because some programs might use your computer's random access memory (RAM) in a way that could be exploited by a virus and harm your computer. Data Execution Prevention (DEP), a security feature of Windows, tracks how programs use memory. If DEP finds memory being used incorrectly, DEP will close the program and let you know. If you trust the program, you can add it to an exceptions list so that DEP won't close it, but you should first check with the manufacturer of the program to see if there is an updated, DEP-compatible version available.

    When Windows closes a program because of compatibility issues, it is because some programs could damage Windows if you try to run them. If Windows notices that an incompatible program might harm your computer (for example, by damaging important system files), Windows will close the program and notify you. Check with the manufacturer of the program to see if an update is available, or check Problem Reports and Solutions in Control Panel to see if a fix from Microsoft is available.
    Ok This is what it said when i looked it up to see why it closes,, So any Idea s to what we sould do,,I am sure it must be simple,, but I think it must be a compatability problem,, when the same programme runs fine on xp????

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Nova Scotia
    Posts
    8,443

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by letjesusreign View Post
    Hi. I have Vista. I have an administrator account. I have logged into that admin account and tried to install the latest version of SBM. I stopped the autoplay, browsed for install on the disk, right clicked it to "run as admin" and installed the program. However, it is still not working correctly. It says "SBM has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available". There never is. It just closes the program and I have to reopen it all for the same results. I have tried all variations of installing this program, always in the admin account (since that is the only account on the computer right now). It never asks me to give a password for the admin account during install, since I am already logged in as the admin. I have used the autoplay to install, I have run without the autoplay, etc etc. How do I get this installed so I can use it????? I really need step by step instructions at this point. Thank you Lisa
    I do no tgo through admin.account and it works find.I have an account with password.

    My Buddies -- Sue, Smiles, Jazzereal, Eng, Crops, Terry & Wolvsie35 , Onie, Marion, Jenna's Mommy, All My Memories, Winnie49, Tiffanys Scraps, Grannywin,emst




  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Lilly do you have an anti-spyware program installed in your computer? if you do try running that for a while then after it scanned your whole system try rebooting your pc. Then try opening that file that always closes. And If you do not have that program go to this site : www.filehippo.com and download the lavasoftware also known as Adaware program. That particular program will help to take care of any spyware or malware that is hiding inside your system.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    383

    Default

    Thanks everyone for your help I will try all suggestions,, over the next couple of days, and see how i go,, But thanks So much, at least i can try something to fix this and its all from Your help:O)

Similar Threads

  1. Need vista help!!!!
    By OnieRN in forum NSBR
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 05:54 AM
  2. Vista - God Help Us
    By Vanessa in forum NSBR
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 05-20-2008, 09:43 AM
  3. Using SBM with Vista
    By TannersScrappin'Momma in forum Scrapbook MAX! Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-19-2008, 04:59 PM
  4. Windows Vista Help!
    By Pekemom in forum Scrapbook MAX! Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 12:21 PM
  5. vista?
    By nanwu in forum Scrapbook MAX! Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-26-2007, 08:42 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts